How-to: Work and Have a Life (A Response Post)

Posted: 2010/05/24 in Public Relations
Tags: , , , ,

The term’s winding to a close and I’m looking forward to summer. Even though I’ll be taking a class here and there, I’m currently in search of some sweet social media job and am ready to just relax, lie in the sun and not be constantly fending off sickness. That being said, I was taking a look at Kelli’s linkylove posts and stumbled across this one.

BBH Labs, a marketing and branding specific blog discussed the importance of having a life outside of work. Specifically, they mentioned Google’s 20% policy, which gives employees time to pursue interests outside the Google realm, and according to the Google website, several Google products have stemmed from this allowance.

BBH Labs thus discussed the importance of having outside interests, emphasizing that these outside interests help define people and also help bring new ideas to their table. They explain that the best advertisers are inspired not by the product or service itself, but by their own collective experience.

I believe this is applicable to the field of PR, as well. On a team, you must allow people to do what they’re strong in and let them pass at what they are not. Also, in order to be happy and keep good workers, it is important to allow them time to live their own life.

In my spare time, I enjoy spending time with my friends and family, reading, writing fiction, running, dancing, singing, and going on nature adventures, amongst others. I consider myself a well-rounded person and thus a great candidate for a job. I thank BBH however, for providing a post that highlights that life skills and interests are crucial to being hired and maintaining a well-rounded career.

Leave a comment