How-to Change Direction in the Middle of the Road

Posted: 2010/05/13 in Environmentalism, J452, Public Relations
Tags: , , , ,

I was sitting in the library just now thinking about the future of this blog. Here’s the thing, this is supposed to be a class assignment, a way for our wonderful professor to teach us how to run, manage and share fresh content and ideas on a blog. I however, want to have fun with it. Although I enjoy introductory guides to Facebook and risk communication, I want to challenge myself to cover PR from every angle.

What I’ve learned most in the UO School of Journalism and Communication, and in particular, in the public relations focus, is that the definition of PR is not a simple one. Just check out some of the content that my fellow students and I posted on our takeover week of PROpenMic, a social networking site primarily for PR people (students, faculty, professionals, etc)…

A couple weeks ago, I posted about how to apply the principles of sustainability to the practice of public relations. I was challenged to write about environmental PR in a way that was fresh and exciting. In fact, my blog post inspired the video I later made for the takeover.

So my challenge to myself is to find random topics and apply PR to them. This post merely introduces that new challenge, a change in direction in the middle of my blogging road.

So wish me luck on this new journey, and please let me know if there are any topics that are of interest to you that I could tackle. As Confucius said, “A journey begins with a single step.” And, one more question… How do you define public relations? Because really people, there are no wrong answers.

Comments
  1. Arlo says:

    I think this is awesome. You are headed in the right direction. I think you should write a post about something that has to with sports teams and money, and the importances of money these days when it comes to a teams success. I dunno just brainstorming!

Leave a Reply

